Jump to content

ColdSpell - A New World Arise


Recommended Posts

From Escape Music:

Coldspell are based in the north of Sweden and were formed in 2005 by guitarist and songwriter Michael Larsson. Since their first release ColdSpell have been one of the bands you like to mention when talking high class Scandi hard rock.


Coldspell blasted onto the scene in 2009 with their own brand of hard rock/metal. They first took the world by storm with their "Infinite Stargaze" release, an album that created a stir in rock circles and the album received stunning reviews all over the world and was on several album "top lists" for 2009 and album of the year at various magazine´s and radio stations.


Two years later in 2011 a brand new release "Out from the Cold" was put out to an eager audience, once again mixed by Tommy Hansen in Denmark, Tommy of course having previously worked with Helloween, TNT, Pretty Maids, Jorn and Pagan's Mind.


In 2013 Coldspell put out a new recording entitled "Frozen Paradise", once again with Tommy Hansen at the mixing desk. This was an unbelievable recording and the band have extended their expertise with razor sharp riffs, solid rhythms and great choruses.


With three albums released so far the wait is over. Coldspell are ready to strike again with the brand new album titled “A New World Arise”. This is stunning recording that features 12 new songs of epic proportions and it’s going to put ColdSpell firmly on the map. This is Scandinavian melodic rock of the highest order and will be a strong contender for the hard rock album of 2017.


Coldspell is:
Niclas Svedentorp – Vocals
Michael Larsson – Guitars
Chris Goldsmith – Bass
Per Johansson – Drums

Additional musicians – Matti Eklund – Keyboards

Guest Musicians:
Jona Tee (Heat) - Keyboards on: It hurts / Love me like you do / Wait until tomorrow
Ged Rylands (Tyketto/Rage of angels) – Keyboards on Get to the top / Just one night






Release Date: 22 September 2017
Catalogue No: ESM308

Track list:
1 Forevermore 04:49
2 Call of the wild 05:17
3 It hurts 04:56
4 Miles away 05:23
5 Signs 05:00
6 Love me like you do 04:34
7 This is me 04:41
8 Get to the top 04:36
9 Wait until tomorrow 05:01
10 Losing my mind 04:30
11 Just one night 04:46
12 A new world arise 06:10

Link to comment
Share on other sites

none of their releases have blown me away but they are always very listenable....

I agree, another pretty good song from these guys, their prior releases were all solid, but each lacked that killer track or two to really stand out

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This one is quite average but not a surprise though

And like Van Halen or Aerosmith, you can always pull 3-4 good songs out of each their album and build a decent compilation

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Decent song and a pretty good band....none of their releases have blown me away but they are always very listenable....


Yep, pretty much that. I don't know if I'd say very listenable, but they are always decent. Just don't think there's enough to set them apart from other solid but average acts.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...
  • 4 months later...
  • 3 months later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.