Jump to content

Autograph - Get Off Your Ass!


Recommended Posts

Wow! That is different. Autograph, it certainly isn't, though without Plunkett there singing, playing, writing, producing etc. I never expected it to sound even remotely like their back catalogue. I like Daniels as a vocalist and Lynch as a guitarist so I'll be picking this one up hoping for a cool hybrid of Jailhouse and Autograph. Also, hope there is enough material here to justify picking it up if you already have their ep. TBD.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Comment at another forum I frequent:

"Sign out please!" :rofl2:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Oh, I didn't realise it was the dude from Jailhouse on vocals. I missed that part. That's kinda cool. I'm going to check it out, but definitely won't be heading into it as a new "real" Autograph album.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...

Not a bad album, but not that great either. They miss Steve Plunkett, Lynch's mega solos and seriously miss the keyboards.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 5 months later...
  • 2 weeks later...

One band where the vocals were distinct.

Never a huge fan, probably a fan like most people here where the "Turn Up The Radio" album was great and then the next one not so much.

Song sounds OK, and I'd be prepared to have a good listen to the album if others were raving about it I guess.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • 2022 HH Donation Drive

    Please support Heavy Harmonies! The donations goal is the out-of-pocket expenses to run the main site and this board for calendar year 2022.

    82% of donation goal reached.
    Donate Sidebar by DevFuse
  • Posts

    • I reckon I would actually prefer to see a band I thought was terrible and be blown away by how good they were, rather than see a band I love and get completely let down by how terrible they were. But, that's just mey personal opinion, personally.
    • Also looking forward to the new Ablaze. They are finishing it off at the moment. My daughter is on the left 
    • American Blitzkreig also overlooked. Even though it's half a cover, it's a great mix.
    • Is that your personal opinion?
    • Can't say for sure yet, as there's not a track listing anywhere that I can find, but it's not mentioned in the write up on the Perris website:   Release date to stores March 17th, 2023. BABYLON A.D. Is Back! The new album “Live Lightning” Hits the streets March 17th, 2023 on Perris Records. The new album includes their top-ten rock-radio classic hits “Hammer Swings Down”, “Kid Goes Wild", “Bang Go The Bells” from their debut release, their hit “Bad Blood” from the “Nothing Sacred” album and songs from their studio albums “American Blitzkrieg”, “The Lost Sessions” and their last release “Revelation Highway” are all featured. The fourteen hard-rocking tracks on “Live Lightning” showcase the high-energy, powerful live performances that Babylon A.D. is renowned for. Formed in 1988, Babylon A.D. hail from the San Francisco Bay Area, CA. Original members, Derek Davis vocalist/songwriter, guitarists’ and music writers John Mathews and Ron Freschi, drummer James Pacheco and bassist Robb Reid were all in childhood rival bands before they began playing together. In 1989 Babylon A.D. caught the attention of Arista Records president and industry music mogul “Clive Davis”, who signed them at a live showcase in Los Angeles thanks to their impressive three song demo and a home made video. Their self-titled album “Babylon A.D.” was released in 1990 and included their hard rock classic hits "Bang Go The Bells”, “Hammer Swings Down” and “The Kid Goes Wild”, which was the trailer song and promotional video for Orion Pictures (ROBO COP 2). The band scored three #1 songs at Metal Radio and reached Gold status on their first release, which spent 38 weeks on the Billboard top 200, peaking at # 46. Their sophomore effort (Nothing Sacred) released in 1992 produced two more top-ten metal rockers. “Bad Blood” and “So Savage the Heart”. Constant touring throughout the early 1990s and several MTV videos made them one of hard rock fans favorite bands. After spending several years with Arista Records the band signed with Apocalypse Records in 1999 and released “Live In Your Face”, a compilation of live tracks recorded at various cities’ across America. Their next release “American Blitzkrieg” soon followed in 2002 and both CDs were well received by critics and fans alike. In 2008 the band released Babylon A.D. "In The Beginning” on Perris Records, a compilation of songs from the original demo tapes that secured them their recording contract with Arista Records. After a long hiatus the band started playing and recording again in 2014. Touring across the States and Europe releasing three more albums, the latest “Revelation Highway” was released in 2018 on Frontiers Records. BABYLON A.D. Is BACK! And once again bringing their powerful hi-energy show and new CD to a city near you! 
    • This could spawn another interesting discussion. Would you rather see a terrible band perform terrible songs very well, or a great band perform excellent songs poorly? I know which I’d rather see.  And before anyone gets mad I’m sure RHCP are good at what they do, but I personally find them to be atrocious. Personally. 
    • Auri - II: Those We Don't Speak Of Amorphis - Tuonela Ash - 1977 Accept - Balls to the Wall
    • I thought One Hot Minute was underrated. Dave Navarro is a good guitarist. But their teeny bopper fans didn't like it and think it is their worst album.
    • Love, The Answer! "Raise a Little Hell" is a one of my all-time favorite albums.  
    • I am a Broncos fan, so obviously not a Chiefs fan, and never been a big Eagles fan, but I guess I'm leaning for Philly to win. Really wanted Cincy to get there.
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.