Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'paul lidel'.

More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • Site Stuff
    • Site Announcements
    • Site Feedback
    • Ebay Auction Data
    • Cover Art, Requests, Corrections - Heavy Harmonies
    • Cover Art, Requests, Corrections - BrutalMetal
    • Cover Art, Requests, Corrections - Heaven's Metal
  • Record Label News
    • Record Label News
    • Retrospect Records
  • Buyin', Tradin', Promotin'
    • CD Trades & Wantlists
    • Sell CDs
    • Good and Bad Traders, Buyers, and Sellers
    • Your CD Collections
    • Shout it to the World!
    • Dumpster Diving
    • Hot Deals!
  • The Music!
    • Music Polls and "Best of" Lists
    • Music Videos
    • Concerts and Tours
    • AOR and Hard Rock
    • Sleaze Glam
    • Heavy Metal
    • Christian Rock and Metal
    • Prog Rock and Metal
    • Other Music Styles
    • General Music Discussion
  • Tech Stuff
    • Computers and Electronics
    • MP3s, CDs, and DVDs.
    • Pro Forum
    • Ebay, PayPal, and other Ecommerce
  • Talk-o-matic
    • Introductions
    • Sports
    • Exquisite Entropy
    • Flamefest

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...


  • Start





Website URL







Favorite Band

Favorite CD

Found 1 result

  1. Brand new band from Paul Lidel. From the interwebz: Signed by Perris Records, 99 CRIMES are ready to release their full length debut "99 Crimes" tomorrow. This powerhouse '80s inspired trio is led by current Dangerous Toys and former Dirty Looks guitarist Paul Lidel. Lidel handles both vocals and guitar duties, joined by bassist Jeff Lynn (also lead vocals) and drummer Chris Jordan (ex Miss Crazy), who make for a killer rhythm section. Of note, Lidel was a part of one of the most underrated albums out there — Dirty Looks‘ 'Cool From The Wire' — which should have put the band on the same level back in 1988 as the bigger bands like Dokken, Ratt, etc. Accordingly, with such a strong pedigree behind him, I was very interested in checking out Lidel‘s new band 99 Crimes. Even more interesting was that Lidel is fronting the band. Straight ahead, no gimmick traditional hard rock is what you’ll get from 99 Crimes' music. Just check “Comin’ Down Like Rain”, a perfect example of these guys delivery, catchy, bluesy American hard rock firmly planted in the second half of the '80s hard rock style: groovy, melodic and plenty of bounce. Lidel's way of singing is raw yet in control, always in tune. At first, I thought that Lidel handled all of the lead vocals, but there's a welcomed surprise. Bassist Jeff Lynn performs the leads on some songs, and he's a very melodic hard rock oriented vocalist. Lynn sings on the melodic hard rocker “Avenue”. If someone had told me that Triumph's guitarist Rik Emmett was singing the track with his trademark high pitched voice, I would firmly have believed that it was indeed Emmett handling the lead vocals. A highlight. "Devil In Your Dreams” is a great opening track. In your face straight from the get go, everything you want in a opening track. It checks all the boxes and things just keep rolling from there. “Do It Over” and “9 Pound Hammer” are built on a guitar riff that comes back over and over again. If anything, I would describe 99 Crimes on these tracks as a mixture of classic rock and ’80s hair metal all rolled into one. More midtempo is “Move like That”, driven by a dense riff. It has a head-banging toe tapping sing-a-long chorus which reminds me of Y&T, and smoking solo. Hailing from Texas, 99 Crimes proves that '80s inspired traditional hard rock isn't dead in America. As you might expect from Lidel, you are getting some old school / no frills rock n’ roll and his voice has a real retro ’70s feel to it, very well balanced by Lynn's more melodic approach. The guitar playing is all over, yet doesn’t overplay on the songs. There isn’t one weak track on this album. In fact, all the songs are really good. Highly Recommended 01. Devil in Your Dreams 02. Rumor 03. Comin' Down Like Rain 04. Fool 05. Move Like That 06. Crystal Ball 07. Avenue 08. Blood from a Stone 09. Do It Over 10. Nine Pound Hammer 11. Never Say Never Paul Lidel - guitar, lead vocals Jeff Lynn - bass, lead vocals Chris Jordan - drums PRE ORDER: perrisrecords.com/new_releases/99_crimes___99_crimes .
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.